top of page

Journal prompt for five stages of grief.

Journaling can be a helpful tool for processing and working through the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Here are some journal prompts for each stage to explore your thoughts, feelings, and experiences:

1. Denial:

- What was your initial reaction when you first received the news or experienced the loss?

- Describe the thoughts and emotions that arose during the denial stage.

- How did denial manifest in your behavior, actions, or interactions with others?

- Reflect on any moments or signs that made you realize you were in denial.

- How has your understanding of the situation evolved since the denial stage?

2. Anger:

- What aspects of the loss or situation have made you feel angry?

- Describe any specific instances or triggers that provoked your anger.

- How does anger affect your relationships with others, including those close to you?

- Have you found healthy ways to express or channel your anger? If so, what are they?

- Reflect on any insights or lessons you've gained through experiencing anger.

3. Bargaining:

- Are there moments or thoughts when you catch yourself making bargains in an attempt to change the outcome?

- What do these bargains typically involve? How do they make you feel?

- How does bargaining impact your sense of control or power in the situation?

- Reflect on the potential benefits or drawbacks of engaging in bargaining during the grieving process.

- Have you experienced any shifts in your bargaining tendencies over time?

4. Depression:

- How does depression show up for you in the grieving process? Describe its impact on your thoughts, emotions, and behaviors.

- Are there specific triggers or situations that intensify your feelings of depression?

- Reflect on the ways in which your support system has influenced your experience of depression.

- Have you sought professional help or support during this stage? If so, what has been helpful?

- Are there any self-care practices or coping strategies that have provided relief from depressive symptoms?

5. Acceptance:

- Describe moments or experiences that have marked your journey towards acceptance.

- How has your perception of the loss or situation changed since the beginning of the grieving process?

- Reflect on any personal growth, resilience, or newfound insights that have emerged through acceptance.

- What does acceptance mean to you? How does it differ from resignation or giving up?

- How can you continue to cultivate acceptance while honoring your own grief?

Remember, grief is a highly personal experience, and there is no right or wrong way to navigate these stages. Allow yourself the space and time you need, and be gentle with yourself throughout the process.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Top tips for grounding oneself & staying centred.

Rooting Visualization: Picture yourself standing tall with your feet firmly planted on the ground. Imagine roots extending from the soles of your feet, reaching deep into the earth below you. Visualiz


bottom of page